I care

It makes me sad when my kids think I don’t care. If they only knew just how much I care. 

At first when he says “you don’t care about me, about MY problems” it hurts so much I want to scream. 

But then I listen… what does he really mean, what is he TRYING to say, really? 

So I take a walk. I come back. I take a breath. Then I ask, “can we talk?” Then….. I listen. 

What he is saying is: I am struggling and you don’t see just how much. School is hard for me, harder than for others. I feel lost, I need you there, I feel alone. 

He is saying, screaming really: Mommy, I need help! 

So, tomorrow we try again. Tomorrow is a new day. Tomorrow, we talk again. Why? Because just a few short years ago, he couldn’t speak. He couldn’t yell at me. He couldn’t tell me “I don’t want to fail 5th grade.”

So, we don’t give up. We try harder, we care more. We listen HARDER! 

Today was hard. Tomorrow, we try again. 

WE try again. 

~me

Leave a Reply

