Bigger Life Teaching Moments

So…. I have to tell you about the conversation about politics Steve and I got into this morning in the car. it started when he started calling the presidential candidate DT names, I think it was something like… he’s a stupid asshole who makes fun of people.  WOW… Umm…. Lets talk about this buddy!

It gave us a chance to have a discussion about how being kind to people is important even if they do not see things the same way we do, or would like them to. BIGGER LIFE TEACHING MOMENT, I kept telling myself while breathing deep cleansing breaths.

During the conversation, it twisted and turned as it often does with someone on the spectrum and we got onto the topic about race… I said to Steve… you DO know that there are people out there who do not like other people simply because they are black, right? His answer: No mommy, that was a LONG time ago. That’s over.

God Bless him… but yeah NO BUD, that’s still happening today.

Then I told him… there are people who absolutely will NOT vote for Hillary simply because she is a WOMAN.

MOM, now you are just LYING.

Then I said… there are police officers shooting black people,  there are black people shooting police officers, there are terrorists from other countries killing Americans and there are American’s hurting people here and in other countries just because they can’t see life from the other’s perspective.

WHOOOOOAAAAA mom… you just gotta stop. JUST STOP MOM. JUST STOP!

**mind**blown**  

Then I reminded him just before he got out of the car… just remember bug, KINDNESS COSTS NOTHING… be kind to everyone including those who disagree with you. Kindness costs nothing. I will say these three words until I am blue in the face… KINDNESS…. COSTS… NOTHING!

Now, I sit… and wonder…….. how long before I get an email from a teacher about the lessons HE taught everyone at school today.

Just now, I checked the behavior tracking app….  it is 2:34 and he has 100% at school today.

Leave a Reply

