I am PUSHY

Yesterday a break down happened at Steve’s daycare. Well, was it REALLY yesterday or has it been going on non-stop since he was 6 years old and I just found the time and the strength, knowledge and vocabulary to discuss it? 

We have worked very hard with Steve over the years. Pushing him to do things he didn’t want to do. Pushing him to do things he didn’t think he would like to do. Pushing him out of his comfort zone… time and time again. Everything from trying to use a cup instead of a bottle to playing soccer among his peers. You name it, we’ve tried it. 

IT IS NOT ALWAYS RAINBOWS AND UNICORNS PEOPLE. 

But we try. 

You see, we try these things to prepare Steve for the real world. Like it or not, I will not always be here for him. I can’t tell the future so as I do with my neurotypical child, I prepare him the best I can to be the best that HE can be. Do I know what that looks like? No. Do I know what occupation he will be attempting? No. Do I care? NO!  So… I push. 

I AM PUSHY.

So… clearly you say, there must be a point to this. Yes. I have pushed my kid to be inclusive. To NOT stay in the shadows. To not play alone under the bleachers by my feet but to play in the park where all the other kids are. To get out there and run on the soccer field with his peers, even if he isn’t always in the exact right position all the time. To be a PART of society. To find that there is something out there bigger than just ourselves. Join in, and most importantly, do not be afraid to try new things. Sometimes it works out (the California Screaming Roller Coaster at California Adventure park in California)  and some times it may not (taking a bite of calamari – I get it bud… I think its nasty too). 

So yesterday while in daycare, the daycare woman said to Steve, “look, sometimes when people see other people struggling they like to kick them harder. It a bummer, so just come in with a smile on your face and just go off to be alone if you need to, but never let them see you upset,” I LOST IT. 

I’m sorry, I said… did you just tell him to exclude himself from the rest of the daycare? How about you instead talk to the rest of your class, how about you talk to them about not making fun of people who are different than them. How about you talk to them about INCLUSIVENESS instead of expecting my son to just “deal” with being excluded. How about you teach them that KINDNESS COSTS NOTHING but being rude to a classmate because he may have more sensitivities than you is wrong.  Yes Steve, we can go HOME now. 

8 months… we have 8 months left with this provider before Steve moves up to middle school (which in and of itself is already about to kill me). 

INCLUSIVENESS!

Please teach inclusiveness – whether it be the color of your skin, your neurobiology, your love for one kind of person for another, your hair color, or height for example. 

 

KINDNESS COSTS NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

~me

Leave a Reply

