A While

It has been a while since I’ve written anything in my blog. It has not been intentional I’ve just been trying to admire all that I am seeing. Taking in the sites and sounds of my children over the summer. Seeing them. Truly SEEING THEM. Time is going bye too fast. I decided this time I would stop and just enjoy it. Summer is a time where we run at warped speed. Even faster than the school year. I needed it to slow down some. I needed to breathe.

Brooklyn is in an interesting phase of her life. Struggling between wanting to be a child and desiring the grown up aspects of life. She is learning who she is, who she wants to be. She is learning lessons about friends and friendship.

Steve is finding his voice. He is in a daily social arena with over 80 peers he had never met before and no aide for the first time in his life. He too is learning about peer interactions. He is learning how to use his words in a way I didn’t expect for another couple of years. He is articulating feelings and needs better than ever. I have presumed competence with him and he has stepped up to the challenge and just FLOWN in a way that fills me with such pride and joy.

So for now…. I am going to sit back. Take it all in, and breathe. Cherish the moments. Play the games. Push them to learn on their own terms in their own ways. Teach, guide, and appreciate. That is the motto of this summer.

~me

Leave a Reply

