Date Night With Brooklyn

Brooklyn loves to sing. Brooklyn LOVES to sing. Like from the time she wakes up until the time she goes to bed, she loves to sing. You can’t keep her from singing. I love our nights out. They take me out of the world and into HERS.

Every once in a while we play a game – Name That Tune is what we call it but its not the way we remember the game. In this game Steve and I belt out names of singers and Brooklyn changes the song she’s singing instantaneously to a new song by the artist we named. For example, if she is singing Steal My Girl by One Direction, and half way through the song we belt out, Bruno Mars, she will flip instantly to Gorilla. No matter how long she’s been singing the song she can flip in an instant. She also never goes back to the same sone. So if we were to say – ONE DIRECTION, this time she’s pick Story of My Life – Instantly… do you get that it is INSTANT… not a Hmmmm which one of their songs should I do now things…. instantly!

So… last year, her “Saving Grace of GOD” teacher, pointed her to the high school show choir. They were doing their annual end of the year “show” and she begged me to take her. Well that story is too long to go into now, but lets just say it didn’t end well but 3 day stomach flu’s never do. We shall leave it at THAT.

So this year (mostly to make up for last year) I looked into it early, only this time, I looked into the middle school where she will be attending in the fall.

**Editor’s note** You should know now, that we live in a town in Los Angeles that should we say is VERY performance centric. The show GLEE was based off one of the two high schools in this town’s performing arts group known as SHOW CHOIR ~or so I’ve been told by MANY parents here.** back to the story**

Last night was my “Date Night with Brooklyn.” We have dinner, get some ice cream and take in a show.

WOW – what a show. To say “show choir” is not your mama’s glee club anymore is not an over statement. I knew a few kids in the show since they had attended our elementary. One friend, her kid, I counted NINE costume changes. NINE. Holy cow!

The talent… the level of TALENT in that group of kids was incredible. There was this one girl that did Carrie Underwood’s Good Girl on stage alone with just her guitar and well… Shoot…. Let’s just say you will be seeing her on The Voice and probably winning it in 3 years when she’s OLD ENOUGH. She was in 8th grade. Blew Me Away!!!!

What was more impressive than simply the performances which were incredibly stellar, Brooklyn sat there for the whole 2 hours eyes lit up like a Christmas tree on Christmas morning…. was the song selection.

One of the powerhouse groups (again, MIDDLE SCHOOLERS) did their set – it was called Rhythm Nation. Cool I thought to myself, then wait a minute, did my music just become CLASSIC was the next thought. … oh shit.

The lights went out… the unmistakable music of Janet Jackson started. Lights came up  -there they were in full Nation attire…. I whisper to Aly, lets see what kinda choreography they do to this…..

MOVE. FOR. MOVE.

These 11, 12 and 13 yr olds. doing that dance, singing those words….

With music by our side
To break the color lines
Let’s work together
To improve our way of life
Join voices in protest
To social injustice
A generation full of courage
Come forth with me
People of the world today
Are we looking for a better way of life
We are a part of the rhythm nation
People of the world unite
Strength in numbers we can get it right
One time
We are a part of the rhythm nation

This is the test
No struggle no progress
Lend a hand to help
Your brother do his best
Things are getting worse
We have to make them better
It’s time to give a damn
Let’s work together come on

People of the world today
Are we looking for a better way of life
We are a part of the rhythm nation
People of the world unite
Strength in numbers we can get it right
One time
We are a part of the rhythm nation

With ALL that is going on in this world right now…. THIS KILLED ME… I broke down in tears.

It gave me HOPE. Hope for the future generations that maybe they can make this madness stop. People are just people, no matter the color of their skin. Everyone should be treated with respect.

It gave me memories. Memories of my time in the Marching Band “Colorguard.” Memories of the bus trips to competition after competition, the early morning rehearsals, the long late Wednesday nights. The fun. The friends.

It moved me in ways that I couldn’t believe.

Then I thought… that’s gonna be my kid! Man… I only PRAY my girl gets to experience some of that. That connection that was clearly represented up on that stage.

Date night with my Brooklyn was as special as always, she got to see her dream come to life right before her eyes to re-strengthen her decision to something different than her friends. I got to show her that just as I’ve said her whole life that ” I HAVE YOUR BACK KID!” I am right here to support your dreams!!!

~me

show choir   rhythm nation

Leave a Reply

